Super-Creamy, Super-Cheesy Vegan Pasta Bake

28 May

This is the single creamiest, cheesiest thing I have eaten in all my years of being vegan.  Also, it makes me realise how lucky I am to have fairly easy access to the ingredients to make something like this happen – I know it won’t be as easy for some, but let me tell you this fifteen-minute pasta bake is well worth going out of your way for.

What you’ll need:

  • Pasta, some kind of short twirly or shell pasta, whatever you like.  Two cooked and drained serves (or more if you like)
  • 1 tin of crushed tomatoes.  Whatever brand and style you like – if you buy them with herbs and onion, just omit any more herbs and onion (or don’t, it’s up to you!)
  • 1 regular sized onion, chopped and lightly browned
  • 1 grated wheel of either Cheezly super-melting edam or Cheezly super-melting mozzarella.  I confess, I used half a wheel of each mixed together but I remember how expensive Cheezly was in Australia, so I wouldn’t have done it there!
  • 1 regular-size carton of Oatly oat cream.  You could use Soyatoo, but it wouldn’t be the same.

What to do:

  • Put the cooked and drained pasta in the bottom of your baking dish.  In a mixing bowl, combine all other ingredients and pour over the top.  Mix lightly, so all the pasta is covered.  Pop in the oven for 15 minutes.  Eat.
  • Celebrate the cheesiest, creamiest, easiest vegan dinner you have ever made.

Grate...

...mix...

...bake!

Leave a Reply

